

SAN LUIS OBISPO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION AUGUST 18, 2022, MEETING MINUTES

Call to Order

The San Luis Obispo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, August 18, 2022, by Chairperson Ed Waage through Zoom pursuant to the COVID-19 provisions of the Governor's Executive Order AB 361.

Roll Call

Present: Chairperson Ed Waage, Vice-Chair Debbie Arnold, Commissioners Lynn Compton,

Robert Enns, Steve Gregory, and Marshall Ochylski, and Alternate Commissioners Ed

Eby, and David Watson

Absent: Commissioner Heather Jensen, and Alternate Commissioners Charles Bourbeau, and

Dawn Ortiz-Legg

Staff: Rob Fitzroy, LAFCO Executive Officer

Imelda Marquez, LAFCO Analyst Morgan Bing, LAFCO Clerk Analyst Brian Pierik, LAFCO Legal Counsel

Approval of the Minutes: July 21, 2022

Chairperson Waage announced the consideration of approval for the July 21, 2022, Regular Meeting Minutes.

Commissioner Watson asked for clarification on procedures for voting to approve minutes.

Chairperson Waage responded to the question and provided answers.

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live public comments were received.

Ms. Bing reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Chairperson Waage closed public comment and asked for Commissioner comments or a motion to approve the minutes.

Commissioner Ochylski motioned to approve the minutes.

Commissioner Compton seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Ochylski, Compton, Enns, Gregory, Watson, Vice Chair Arnold,

and Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Non-Agenda Public Comments

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live non-agenda public comment requests were received.

Ms. Bing reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Consent Agenda

A-1: Resolution Regarding Commission Meetings Held by Teleconference as Provided by AB 361 (Recommend Review and Approve)

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live comments from the public were received.

Ms. Bing reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Chairperson Waage closed public comment and asked for Commissioner motion to approve the Consent Agenda item.

Commissioner Enns motioned to approve the items on consent.

Commissioner Watson seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioner Enns, Watson, Compton, Gregory, Ochylski, Vice Chair Arnold, and

Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Regular Matters

B-1: Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Year End Budget Report (Recommend Review and Approve)

Mr. Fitzroy presented the item.

Chairperson Waage opened the item for Commissioner questions.

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live comments from the public were received.

Ms. Bing reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Chairperson Waage closed public comment and asked for additional comments or Commissioner motion to approve the action to receive and file the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Year End Budget Report and direct the Executive Officer to submit it to the County Auditor/Controller.

Commissioner Compton motioned to approve the action.

Vice Chair Arnold seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioner Compton, Vice Chair Arnold, Commissioners Enns, Gregory,

Ochylski, Watson, and Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

B-2: Office Lease Modification (Recommend Review and Approve)

Mr. Fitzroy presented the item.

Chairperson Waage opened the item for commissioner questions, hearing none.

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live comments from the public were received.

Ms. Bing reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Chairperson Waage closed public comment and asked for additional comments or Commissioner motion to approve the action to review the proposed lease modifications summary and draft lease agreement and direct the Chair of the Commission to sign the lease agreement.

Commissioner Ochylski motioned to approve the action.

Commissioner Gregory seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Ochylski, Gregory, Compton, Enns, Watson, Vice Chair Arnold,

and Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

B-3: 2022 Biennial Update of the Conflict of Interest Code (Recommend Review and Approve)

Mr. Fitzroy presented the item.

Chairperson Waage opened the item for commissioner comments, hearing none.

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live comments from the public were received.

Ms. Bing reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Chairperson Waage closed public comment and asked for additional comments or Commissioner motion to approve the action to adopt the resolution to amend the conflict of interest code.

Vice Chair Arnold made a motion to approve the action.

Commissioner Compton seconded the motion.

AYES: Vice Chair Arnold, Commissioners Compton, Enns, Gregory, Ochylski, Watson,

and Chairperson Waage.

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Commissioner Comments: Chairperson Waage inquired about staff availability for

signing documents.

Commissioner Ochylski thanked staff for their work.

<u>Legal Counsel Comments:</u> None

Executive Officer Comments: Mr. Fitzroy commented on the website URL and staff

email changes and provided updates on the LAFCO Special

District Alternate Seat election.

<u>Adjournment:</u> With no further business before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at
9:27 a.m. until the next meeting of the Commission pursuant to Governor's Executive Orders
depending upon the progression of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Respectfully submitted, Morgan Bing, LAFCO Clerk Analyst