

# SAN LUIS OBISPO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION SEPTEMBER 17, 2020, MEETING MINUTES

#### Call to Order

The San Luis Obispo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) meeting was called to order at 9:02 a.m. on Thursday, September 17, 2020, pursuant to the COVID-19 provisions of the Governor's Executive Order N-29-20 by Chairperson Tom Murray. Viewing and commenting instructions were provided on the COVID-19 Agenda Cover and LAFCO's Homepage.

#### Roll Call

Present: Chairperson Tom Murray, Commissioners Debbie Arnold, Lynn Compton, Roberta

Fonzi, Marshall Ochylski, Ed Waage, and Alternate Commissioner Ed Eby.

**Absent**: Commissioner Robert Enns, Alternate Commissioners Steve Gregory, Heather

Jensen, and John Peschong.

Staff: Mike Prater, LAFCO Executive Officer

Brian Pierik, LAFCO Legal Counsel

Imelda Marquez, LAFCO Commission Clerk

### **Approval of Minutes**

**Chairperson Murray** asked the Clerk to report if any written or live comments from the public were received.

Ms. Marquez reported that no public comments were received.

**Chairperson Murray** asked for any Commissioner comments or a motion.

Commissioner Ochylski motioned to approve the minutes.

Commissioner Arnold seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Ochylski, Arnold, Compton, Fonzi, Waage, and Chairperson

Murray

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

#### **Non-Agenda Public Comments**

Chairperson Murray asked the Clerk to report if any written or live non-agenda public

comments were received.

Ms. Marquez reported that no non-agenda public comments were received.

#### **Consent Agenda**

**A-1:** Biennial Update of LAFCO's Conflict of Interest Code (Recommend Review and Approval)

Mr. Prater introduced the item.

Chairperson Murray opened the item for Commissioner comments, hearing none.

**Chairperson Murray** asked if Staff was involved in checking 700 forms when submitted.

Mr. Prater and Mr. Pierik provided Chair Murray with an answer.

**Chairperson Murray** asked the Clerk to report if any written or live comments from the public were received.

Ms. Marquez reported that no public comments were received.

**Commissioner Waage** motioned to approve the Consent Agenda.

**Commissioner Fonzi** seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Waage, Fonzi, Arnold, Compton, Ochylski, and Chairperson

Murray

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

#### Regular Matters

**B-1:** Time Extension Request for SSJWD and EPCWD (Recommend Review and Approval)

**Mr. Prater** presented the item.

**Chairperson Murray** asked the Clerk if any requests were received for live public comment.

**Ms. Marquez** announced no submitted public comments and one request for live public comment was received.

**Sophie Treder**, Agent, briefed the Commission on the status of the map & legal for both water districts.

Chairperson Murray opened the item for Commissioner comments or a motion.

**Commissioner Ochylski** motioned to grant the one-year extension.

Commissioner Waage seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Ochylski, Waage, Arnold, Compton, Fonzi, and Chairperson

Murray

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

**B-2:** Adoption of Record Retention and Destruction Policy

(Recommend Review and Approval)

Mr. Prater presented the item.

Chairperson Murray opened the item for Commissioner comments.

**Commissioner Ochylski** asked for clarification regarding social media record types.

**Mr. Prater** addressed the question.

**Chairperson Murray** asked the Clerk to report if any written or live comments from the public were received.

Ms. Marquez reported that no public comments were received regarding this item.

**Chairperson Murray** opened the item for Commissioner comments or a motion.

**Commissioner Waage** motioned to approve Staff Recommendation.

Commissioner Arnold seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Waage, Arnold, Compton, Fonzi, Ochylski, and Chairperson

Murray

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

#### **Commissioner Comments:**

Commissioner Ochylski asked about CALAFCO Board nominations and voting.

#### **Legal Counsel Comments:**

None

## **Executive Officer Comments:**

None

<u>Adjournment:</u> With no further business before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 9:22 a.m. until the next meeting of the Commission pursuant to Governor's Executive Orders, depending upon the progression of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Respectfully submitted, Imelda Marquez, LAFCO Analyst