

SAN LUIS OBISPO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION NOVEMBER 17, 2022, MEETING MINUTES

Call to Order

The San Luis Obispo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) meeting was called to order at 9:02 a.m. on Thursday, November 17, 2022, by Chairperson Ed Waage through Zoom pursuant to the COVID-19 provisions of the Governor's Executive Order AB 361.

Roll Call

Present: Chairperson Ed Waage, Vice-Chair Debbie Arnold, Commissioners Robert Enns,

Heather Jensen, Marshall Ochylski, and Alternate Commissioner David Watson

Absent: Commissioners Lynn Compton, Steve Gregory, Alternate Commissioners Charles

Bourbeau, Ed Eby, and Dawn Ortiz-Legg

Staff: Rob Fitzroy, LAFCO Executive Officer

Imelda Marquez, LAFCO Analyst Morgan Bing, LAFCO Clerk Analyst Brian Pierik, LAFCO Legal Counsel

Approval of the Minutes: October 20, 2022

Chairperson Waage announced the consideration of approval for the October 20, 2022, Regular Meeting Minutes.

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live public comments were received.

Ms. Bing reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Chairperson Waage closed public comment and asked for Commissioner comments or a motion to approve the minutes.

Vice Chair Arnold motioned to approve the minutes.

Commissioner Enns seconded the motion.

AYES: Vice Chair Arnold, Commissioners Enns and Jensen, and Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Non-Agenda Public Comments

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live non-agenda public comment requests were received.

Ms. Bing reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Consent Agenda

A-1: Resolution Regarding Commission Meetings Held by Teleconference as Provided by AB 361 (Recommend Review and Approve)

A-2: 2023 Regular Meeting Calendar (Recommend Review and Approve)

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live comments from the public were received.

Ms. Bing reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Chairperson Waage closed public comment and asked for Commissioner motion to approve the Consent Agenda items.

Vice Chair Arnold motioned to approve the items on consent.

Commissioner Jensen seconded the motion.

AYES: Vice Chair Arnold, Commissioners Jensen and Enns, and Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Regular Matters

B-1: LAFCO File No. 2-R-22: Annexation #13 to County Service Area 18 (Jack Ranch Headquarters) (Recommend Review and Approve)

Ms. Marquez presented the item.

Chairperson Waage opened the item for Commissioner questions.

Rob Miller, from the applicant team, thanked staff and welcomed questions.

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live comments from the public were received.

Ms. Bing reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Chairperson Waage asked for a motion to approve the first action which finds that the proposal be exempt from the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQ) pursuant to CEQA Guidelines section 15303 Class 3 (d) and section 15319, Class 19 (b).

Commissioner Enns made a motion to approve the first action.

Vice Chair Arnold seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioner Enns, Vice Chair Arnold, Commissioner Jensen, Chairperson

Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Chairperson Waage asked for a motion to approve the second action to waive protest proceedings.

Vice Chair Arnold made a motion to approve the second action.

Commissioner Enns seconded the motion.

AYES: Vice Chair Arnold, Commissioners Enns and Jensen, Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Chairperson Waage asked for a motion to approve the third action to conditionally approve, by resolution, the proposed Annexation to County Service Area 18.

Vice Chair Arnold made a motion to approve the third action.

Commissioner Enns seconded the motion.

AYES: Vice Chair Arnold, Commissioners Enns and Jensen, Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

B-2: First Quarter Fiscal Year 2022-23 LAFCO Budget Status and Work Plan Report (Recommend Review and Approve)

Mr. Fitzroy presented the item.

Chairperson Waage opened the item for commissioner comments and welcomed Commissioner Ochylski to the meeting.

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live comments from the public were received.

Ms. Bing reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Vice Chair Arnold, Chairperson Waage and Commissioner Jensen thanked staff for their work.

Chairperson Waage asked for a motion to approve the first quarter budget and work plan report for fiscal year 2022-23 and direct the Executive Officer to file it with the County Auditor.

Commissioner Enns motioned to approve staff recommendation.

Vice Chair Arnold seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioner Enns, Vice Chair Arnold, Commissioners Jensen and Ochylski, and

Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Informational Matters

C-1: Notice of Petition of Application for Annexation #30 Dana Reserve Specific Plan to Nipomo Community Services District – LAFCO File No. 4-R-22 (Recommend Receive and File)

Mr. Fitzroy presented the item.

Chairperson Waage opened the item for commissioner comments, hearing none.

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live comments from the public were received.

Ms. Bing reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Chairperson Waage asked for clarification on the time frame of this project.

Mr. Fitzroy provided input on time frame.

Chairperson Waage asked for a motion to receive and file the notice of petition of application for Annexation #30 Dana Reserve Specific Plan to Nipomo Community Services District – LAFCO File No. 4-R-22.

Vice Chair Arnold made a motion to approve the action.

Commissioner Enns seconded the motion.

AYES: Vice Chair Arnold, Commissioners Enns, Jensen and Ochylski, and Chairperson

Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Commissioner Comments: Chairperson Waage asked if staff anticipate a December

meeting. Mr. Fitzroy responded that a virtual December

meeting is expected.

<u>Legal Counsel Comments:</u> None

Executive Officer Comments: None.

<u>Adjournment:</u> With no further business before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 9:40 a.m. until the next meeting of the Commission pursuant to Governor's Executive Orders, depending upon the progression of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Respectfully submitted, Morgan Bing, LAFCO Clerk Analyst