

# SAN LUIS OBISPO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION APRIL 16, 2020

### **Call to Order**

The San Luis Obispo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, April 16, 2020, pursuant to the provisions of the Governor's Executive Order N-29-20 by Chairperson Tom Murray. Viewing instructions were provided on the COVID-19 Agenda Cover and on LAFCO's Homepage.

## Roll Call

Present: Chairperson Tom Murray, Commissioners Robert Enns, Debbie Arnold, Lynn

Compton, Roberta Fonzi, Marshall Ochylski, Ed Waage, and Alternate

Commissioner Ed Eby.

**Absent**: Alternate Commissioners Steve Gregory, Heather Jensen and John Peschong.

**Staff:** David Church, LAFCO Executive Officer

Mike Prater, LAFCO Deputy Executive Officer

Brian Pierik, LAFCO Legal Counsel

Imelda Marquez, LAFCO Commission Clerk

#### **Approval of Minutes**

**Chairperson Murray** asked the Clerk to report if any written comments from the public were received.

Ms. Marquez reported that no public comments were received.

**Chairperson Murray** asked for any questions or comments from the Commissioners, hearing none.

Commissioner Compton moved approval of the Minutes for February 20, 2020.

Commissioner Fonzi seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Arnold, Compton, Enns, Fonzi, Waage, and Chairperson Murray

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: Commissioner Ochylski

The motion was passed.

#### **Non-Agenda Public Comments**

**Chairperson Murray** asked the Clerk to report if any non-agenda public comments were received.

**Ms. Marquez** reported that no public comments were received.

## **Consent Agenda**

A-1: Minor Update to LAFCO Bylaws (Recommend Approval)

**A-2:** Third Quarter Fiscal Year 2019-2020 LAFCO Budget Status Report (Recommend Receive and File with the County Auditor)

**Mr. Church** addressed a prior comment received from **Commissioner Ochylski**, regarding item A-1, revisions to the roll call vote. **Mr. Church** recommended that no changes be made to the roll call vote provision in the By-Laws.

**Chairperson Murray** opened the item for Commissioner comments.

**Commissioner Ochylski** supported the changes **Mr. Church** discussed and motioned to approve the consent agenda.

Commissioner Waage seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Arnold, Compton, Enns, Fonzi, Ochylski, Waage, and

Chairperson Murray

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

## **Regular Matters**

**B-1:** San Luis Obispo LAFCO - Proposed Budget for Fiscal Year 2020-21 (Recommend Review and Tentative Approval of Option 1 or Option 2)

Mr. Church presented the item.

**Chairperson Murray** opened the item for Commissioner comment.

**Commissioner Enns** had a question about commenting on the two options in open session.

**Mr. Pierik** provided the Commission with guidance on what procedure to take to discuss the budget and recommended no action be taken until next month.

**Commissioner Enns** suggested the Commission go into closed session and move the budget item for the May meeting.

**Mr. Church** clarified that LAFCO would be coming back in May with the budget item, pursuant to the Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Act.

Chairperson Murray asked the Clerk if any written comments from the public were received.

Ms. Marquez reported that no public comments were received.

Commissioner Fonzi motioned to continue this item until the May meeting.

Commissioner Enns seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Arnold, Compton, Enns, Fonzi, Ochylski, Waage, and

Chairperson Murray

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Commissioner Comments: None

<u>Legal Counsel Comments:</u> Mr. Pierik clarified reporting out of the closed session Item

if necessary.

**Executive Officer Comments:** None

## **Closed Session**

**C-1:** Closed session pursuant to Government Code Section 54957(b) (1) to discuss the Public Employee/Employee Appointment - Title: Executive Officer

Mr. Pierik announced the closed session item.

**Chairperson Murray** directed everyone to stop video and mute audio before calling into the closed session teleconference meeting.

At 10:34 a.m. Chairperson Murray called the open session back into order.

**Ms. Marquez** took roll, with all members being present.

<u>Report on Closed Session</u>: LAFCO Legal Counsel, Brian Pierik, stated that there was no reportable action.

<u>Adjournment:</u> With no further business before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 10:36 a.m. until the next meeting of the Commission pursuant to the Governor's Executive Order N-29-20, depending upon the progression of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Respectfully submitted, Imelda Marquez, LAFCO Commission Clerk