

# SAN LUIS OBISPO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION APRIL 21, 2022, MEETING MINUTES

## **Call to Order**

The San Luis Obispo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) meeting was called to order at 9:05 a.m. on Thursday, April 21, 2022, by Chairperson Ed Waage pursuant to the COVID-19 provisions of the Governor's Executive Order AB 361.

#### Roll Call

Present: Chairperson Ed Waage, Vice-Chair Debbie Arnold, Commissioners Robert Enns, Steve

Gregory, Heather Jensen, and Alternate Commissioners Charles Bourbeau, Ed Eby,

and David Watson

Absent: Commissioners Lynn Compton, Marshall Ochylski, and Alternate Commissioner

Dawn Ortiz-Legg

**Staff:** Rob Fitzroy, LAFCO Executive Officer

Brian Pierik, LAFCO Legal Counsel Imelda Marquez, LAFCO Analyst

Approval of the Minutes: March 17, 2022

**Chairperson Waage** announced the consideration of approval for the March 17, 2022, Regular Meeting Minutes.

**Chairperson Waage** asked if any written or live non-agenda public comment requests were received.

Ms. Marquez reported that no written or live public comments were received.

**Chairperson Waage** closed public comment and asked for Commissioner comments or a motion to approve the Minutes.

**Commissioner Arnold** motioned to approve the minutes.

**Commissioner Gregory** seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Arnold, Gregory, Eby, Enns, Jensen, and Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

# **Non-Agenda Public Comments**

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live non-agenda public comment requests were received.

Ms. Marquez reported that no written or live public comments were received.

# **Consent Agenda**

Resolution Regarding Commission Meetings Held by Teleconference as Provided by AB A-1: 361 (Recommend Review and Approve)

Third Quarter Fiscal Year 2021-2022 LAFCO Budget Status Report (Receive and File) A-2:

Chairperson Waage asked if any Commissioner would wish to pull an item from the consent agenda.

Seeing none, Chairperson Waage asked for any written or live non-agenda public comment requests.

Ms. Marquez reported that no written or live public comments were received.

Chairperson Waage closed public comment and asked for Commissioner motion to approve the Consent Agenda items.

**Commissioner Enns** motioned to approve the items on consent.

**Commissioner Arnold** seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Enns, Arnold, Eby, Gregory, Jensen, and Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

### **Regular Matters**

Proposed Fiscal Year 2022-23 Budget and Work Plan (Recommend Review and Approve) B-1:

**Mr. Fitzroy** presented the item.

**Chairperson Waage** opened the item for Commissioner questions, hearing none.

**Chairperson Waage** asked if any written or live non-agenda public comment requests were received.

Seeing none, **Chairperson Waage** closed public comment and complimented **Mr. Fitzroy** on the new work plan and budget.

**Chairperson Waage** asked for additional comments or motion to approve the first action that includes approval of the proposed budget and work plan.

Commissioner Gregory motioned to approve the first action.

Commissioner Arnold seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Gregory, Arnold, Eby, Enns, Jensen, and Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

**Chairperson Waage** asked for a motion to approve the second action to distribute the proposed budget and work plan to contributing agencies.

**Commissioner Gregory** motioned to approve the second action.

**Commissioner Enns** seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Gregory, Enns, Eby, Jensen, Arnold, and Chairperson Waage

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

**Chairperson Waage** asked to move the Commissioner, Legal Counsel and Executive Officer Comments before the Closed Session.

<u>Commissioner Comments:</u>

Commissioner Eby asked for clarification on when in person meetings would resume. Commissioner Gregory

complimented the budget process and effort from staff.

<u>Legal Counsel Comments:</u> None

**Executive Officer Comments:** Mr. Fitzroy clarified when a study session is planned for

the Dana Reserve project. Followed by updates on the special district alternate seat on the Commission and

website updates.

# **Closed Session**

**C-1:** Pursuant to Government Code Section 54957 – Public Employee Regular Annual Performance Evaluation | Title: Executive Officer

**Mr. Pierik** announced the Closed Session item and mentioned that there would be no reportable action.

**Chairperson Waage** asked if any written or live comments from the public were received.

Ms. Marquez reported that there were no submitted or live public comment requests.

**Chairperson Waage** asked for Commissioners to move into the Closed Session Zoom.

<u>Adjournment:</u> With no further business before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 9:35 a.m. until the next meeting of the Commission pursuant to the COVID-19 provisions of the Governor's Executive Order AB 361.

THESE MINUTES ARE NOT OFFICIAL NOR ARE THEY A PERMANENT PART OF THE RECORD UNTIL THEY ARE APPROVED BY LAFCO COMMISSIONERS AT THE NEXT REGULAR MEETING.

Respectfully submitted, Imelda Marquez, LAFCO Analyst