

SAN LUIS OBISPO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION NOVEMBER 14, 2024, MEETING MINUTES

Call to Order

The San Luis Obispo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, November 14, 2024, by Chairperson Marshall Ochylski in the Board of Supervisors Chambers at the County Government Center, 1055 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93408.

Pledge of Allegiance

Roll Call

Present: Chairperson Marshall Ochylski, Vice Chair Steve Gregory, Commissioners Debbie

Arnold, Robert Enns, Jimmy Paulding, and Ed Waage, and Alternate Commissioners

Ed Eby and David Watson

Absent: Alternate Commissioners Dawn Ortiz-Legg and Carla Wixom

Staff: Rob Fitzroy, LAFCO Executive Officer

Imelda Marquez-Vawter, LAFCO Analyst

Morgan Bing, LAFCO Analyst

Holly Whatley, LAFCO Legal Counsel

Approval of the Minutes: October 17, 2024

Chairperson Ochylski announced the consideration of approval of the October 17, 2024, Regular Meeting Minutes.

Chairperson Ochylski asked for Commissioner comments.

Chairperson Ochylski opened the item for public comment, announcing it was closed shortly after hearing none.

Chairperson Ochylski asked for a motion to approve the minutes.

Commissioner Waage motioned to approve the minutes.

Commissioner Enns seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Waage, Enns, Arnold, Paulding, Watson, Eby, and Vice Chair

Gregory

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: Chairperson Ochylski

The motion passed.

Non-Agenda Public Comment Period

Chairperson Ochylski opened the item for public comment, announcing it was closed shortly after hearing none.

Mr. Fitzroy thanked and recognized Chairperson Ochylski for 12 years of service on the Commission.

Regular Matters

A-1: LAFCO File No. 4-R-22 | Annexation No. 30 to Nipomo Community Services District (Dana Reserve Specific Plan)

Mr. Fitzroy presented the item.

Chairperson Ochylski asked for Commissioner questions.

Commissioner Waage asked if the CEQA subject matter expert could comment on the manzanita issue.

Mr. Fitzroy invited Emily Creel from SWCA Environmental Consultants to speak.

Emily Creel, from SWCA Environmental Consultants, provided comment.

Commissioner Watson inquired about the study referenced in Babak Naficy's letter.

Emily Creel responded to questions and provided comment.

Chairperson Ochylski asked for clarification on the study received.

Mr. Fitzroy responded to questions and provided comment.

Commissioner Arnold asked about water supply from Santa Maria.

Ray Dienzo, General Manager of Nipomo Community Services District, responded to questions and provided comment.

Commissioner Watson inquired about the use of supplemental water for infill development.

Ray Dienzo responded to questions and provided comment.

Commissioner Paulding asked for NCSD's stance on supplemental water for infill development.

Ray Dienzo responded to questions and provided comment.

Craig Steele, Legal Counsel for NCSD, responded to questions and provided comment.

Nick Tompkins, from NKT Development LLC, provided a presentation on the proposal.

Elizabeth Worthen, from NKT Development LLC, provided a presentation on the proposal.

Andrew Fogg, the applicant's attorney, provided additional information on the proposal.

Commissioner Paulding inquired about the down payment assistance program and the local priority program.

Nick Tompkins responded to questions and provided comment.

Andrew Fogg responded to questions and provided comment.

Commissioner Paulding asked for comment regarding justification for above-moderate housing.

Andrew Fogg provided comment.

Nick Tompkins provided comment.

Commissioner Paulding asked why the project's scope has changed since the July 2022 study session.

Nick Tompkins responded to questions and provided comment.

Chairperson Ochylski called for a recess of 10 minutes at 10:05 AM.

Chairperson Ochylski called the meeting back to order at 10:18 AM.

Chairperson Ochylski opened the item for public comment and 63 speakers provided comment to the Commission.

Chairperson Ochylski called for a recess of 30 minutes at 12:00 PM.

Chairperson Ochylski called the meeting back to order at 12:35 PM.

Public comment continued.

Chairperson Ochylski closed public comment and opened the item for Commissioner questions and comments.

Mr. Fitzroy stated staff had no further comments at this time.

Commissioner Paulding provided comment and stated his opposition to the project.

Commissioner Waage provided comment and stated his support for the project.

Commissioner Arnold provided comment and stated her support for the project.

Commissioner Enns provided comment and stated his support for the project.

Commissioner Watson provided comment and stated his support for the project.

Vice Chair Gregory provided comment and stated his support for the project.

Chairperson Ochylski provided comment and stated his support for the project.

Commissioner Paulding provided additional comment.

Chairperson Ochylski thanked staff for their work.

Commissioner Waage motioned to approve staff recommendation for Action 1.

Commissioner Arnold seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Waage, Arnold, Enns, Watson, Vice Chair Gregory, and

Chairperson Ochylski

NAYS: Commissioner Paulding

ABSTAINING: None

The motion passed.

Commissioner Waage motioned to approve staff recommendation for Action 2.

Commissioner Enns seconded the motion.

AYES: Commissioners Waage, Enns, Arnold, Watson, Vice Chair Gregory, and

Chairperson Ochylski

NAYS: Commissioner Paulding

ABSTAINING: None

The motion passed.

<u>Commissioner Comments:</u> Commissioner Waage thanked Chairperson Ochylski for his service on LAFCO.

<u>Legal Counsel Comments:</u> None

Executive Officer Comments: Mr. Fitzroy provided updates on upcoming meetings.

<u>Adjournment:</u> With no further business before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 2:03 PM until the next meeting of the Commission in the Board of Supervisors Chambers at the County Government Center in San Luis Obispo.

Respectfully submitted, Morgan Bing, LAFCO Analyst