

# SAN LUIS OBISPO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION DECEMBER 15, 2022, MEETING MINUTES

## Call to Order

The San Luis Obispo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, December 15, 2022, by Chairperson Ed Waage through Zoom pursuant to the COVID-19 provisions of the Governor's Executive Order AB 361.

## Roll Call

- Present: Chairperson Ed Waage, Vice-Chair Debbie Arnold, Commissioners Lynn Compton, Robert Enns, Heather Jensen, and Alternate Commissioners Ed Eby and David Watson
- Absent: Commissioners Steve Gregory and Marshall Ochylski, and Alternate Commissioners Charles Bourbeau and Dawn Ortiz-Legg
- Staff: Rob Fitzroy, LAFCO Executive Officer Imelda Marquez, LAFCO Analyst Morgan Bing, LAFCO Clerk Analyst Brian Pierik, LAFCO Legal Counsel

Approval of the Minutes: November 17, 2022

**Chairperson Waage** announced the consideration of approval for the November 17, 2022, Regular Meeting Minutes.

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live public comments were received.

Ms. Bing reported that no written or live public comments were received.

**Chairperson Waage** closed public comment and asked for Commissioner comments or a motion to approve the minutes.

Vice Chair Arnold motioned to approve the minutes.

Commissioner Compton seconded the motion.

- AYES: Vice Chair Arnold, Commissioners Compton, Enns, Jensen, and Chairperson Waage
- NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: Commissioner Eby

The motion was passed.

### Non-Agenda Public Comment

**Chairperson Waage** asked if any written or live non-agenda public comment requests were received.

Ms. Bing reported that no written or live public comments were received.

## Consent Agenda

A-1: Resolution Regarding Commission Meetings Held by Teleconference as Provided by AB 361 (Recommend Review and Approve)

Chairperson Waage asked if any written or live comments from the public were received.

Ms. Bing reported that no written or live public comments were received.

**Chairperson Waage** closed public comment and asked for Commissioner motion to approve the Consent Agenda items.

Commissioner Enns motioned to approve the items on consent.

Vice Chair Arnold seconded the motion.

- AYES: Commissioner Enns, Vice Chair Arnold, Commissioners Compton, Jensen, Eby, and Chairperson Waage
- NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

#### **Regular Matters**

**B-1:** LAFCO File No. 3-R-22: Sphere of Influence Amendment and Annexation #19 to Cayucos Sanitary District (Valley Lot) (Recommend Continuance for a Future Meeting to be Determined)

Mr. Fitzroy presented the item.

Chairperson Waage opened the item for Commissioner questions.

Chairperson Waage opened the floor to public comment.

**Russell Taylor** commented on his written public comment which was previously submitted to the commission.

**Chairperson Waage** closed public comment and asked for Commissioner motion to approve continuance of LAFCO File No. 3-R-22: Sphere of Influence Amendment and Annexation #19 to Cayucos Sanitary District (Valley Lot) to a future meeting to be determined.

**Commissioner Enns** made a motion to approve staff recommendation.

Vice Chair Arnold seconded the motion.

- AYES: Commissioner Enns, Vice Chair Arnold, Commissioners Compton, Jensen, and Eby, and Chairperson Ed Waage
- NAYS: None
- ABSTAINING: None

The motion was passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

Commissioner Comments:	Vice Chair Arnold and Chairperson Waage wished everyone a happy holiday and thanked staff for their work.
Legal Counsel Comments:	None

Executive Officer Comments: Mr. Fitzroy thanked Commissioner Compton for her service on the Commission for the last six years and presented her with a certificate of appreciation. Vice Chair Arnold and Chairperson Waage joined in thanking Commissioner Compton for her time and service.

<u>Adjournment:</u> With no further business before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 9:12 a.m. until the next meeting of the Commission pursuant to Governor's Executive Orders, depending upon the progression of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Respectfully submitted, Morgan Bing, LAFCO Clerk Analyst