

SAN LUIS OBISPO LOCAL AGENCY FORMATION COMMISSION DECEMBER 19, 2024, MEETING MINUTES

Call to Order

The San Luis Obispo Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) meeting was called to order at 9:00 a.m. on Thursday, December 19, 2024, by Vice Chairperson Steve Gregory in the Board of Supervisors Chambers at the County Government Center, 1055 Monterey Street, San Luis Obispo, CA 93408.

Pledge of Allegiance

Roll Call

- **Present**: Vice Chair Steve Gregory, Commissioners Debbie Arnold, Robert Enns, Jimmy Paulding, and Ed Waage, and Alternate Commissioners Ed Eby and David Watson
- Absent: Alternate Commissioners Dawn Ortiz-Legg and Carla Wixom
- Staff: Rob Fitzroy, LAFCO Executive Officer Imelda Marquez-Vawter, LAFCO Analyst Morgan Bing, LAFCO Analyst Melissa Morris, LAFCO Commission Clerk Holly Whatley, LAFCO Legal Counsel (via phone)

Vice Chair Gregory thanked and recognized Chairperson Arnold for 8 years of service on the Commission.

Approval of the Minutes: November 14, 2024 & November 21, 2024

Vice Chair Gregory announced the consideration of approval of the November 14, 2024, and November 21, 2024, Regular Meeting and Protest Proceeding Hearing Minutes.

Vice Chair Gregory asked for Commissioner comments.

Vice Chair Gregory opened the item for public comment, announcing it was closed shortly after hearing none.

Vice Chair Gregory asked for a motion to approve the minutes.

Commissioner Arnold motioned to approve the minutes.

Commissioner Watson seconded the motion.

- AYES: Commissioners Arnold, Watson, Eby, Enns, Paulding, Waage, and Vice Chair Gregory
- NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion passed.

Non-Agenda Public Comment Period (continued)

Vice Chair Gregory opened the item for public comment, announcing it was closed shortly after hearing none.

Regular Matters

A-1: First Quarter Fiscal Year 2024-2025 Budget Status and Work Plan Report

Mr. Fitzroy provided comment on the item.

Vice Chair Gregory opened the item for public comment, announcing it was closed shortly after hearing none.

Vice Chair Gregory opened the item for Commissioner questions and comments, announcing it was closed shortly after hearing none.

Commissioner Paulding motioned to approve staff recommendation for A-1.

Commissioner Waage seconded the motion.

- AYES: Commissioners Paulding, Waage, Arnold, Eby, Enns, Watson, and Vice Chair Gregory
- NAYS: None
- ABSTAINING: None

The motion passed.

B-1: Final Results for the Protest Hearing for LAFCO File No. 1-E-23 | Oceano Community Services District Divestiture of Fire Protection Service and Designation of the County of San Luis Obispo as the Successor Agency for Fire Protection Service

Mr. Fitzroy and Ms. Bing provided comment on the item.

Vice Chair Gregory opened the item for Commissioner questions and comments, announcing it was closed shortly after hearing none.

Vice Chair Gregory opened the item for public comment, announcing it was closed shortly after hearing none.

Commissioner Paulding motioned to approve staff recommendation for B-1.

Commissioner Waage seconded the motion.

Commissioner Paulding provided comment on the item.

AYES: Commissioners Paulding, Waage, Arnold, Eby, Enns, Watson, and Vice Chair Gregory

NAYS: None

ABSTAINING: None

The motion passed.

<u>Commissioner Comments:</u> Commissioner Waage thanked Commissioner Arnold for her service on LAFCO. Commissioner Arnold thanked the Commission. Vice Chair Gregory thanked Commissioner Arnold for her service on LAFCO.

Legal Counsel Comments: Ms. Whatley provided updates on upcoming meetings.

Executive Officer Comments: Mr. Fitzroy thanked Commissioner Arnold for her service, introduced Ms. Morris, and provided updates on upcoming meetings.

<u>Adjournment:</u> With no further business before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 9:18 AM until the next meeting of the Commission in the Board of Supervisors Chambers at the County Government Center in San Luis Obispo.

THESE MINUTES ARE NOT OFFICIAL NOR ARE THEY A PERMANENT PART OF THE RECORD UNTIL THEY ARE APPROVED BY LAFCO COMMISSIONERS AT THE NEXT REGULAR MEETING.

Respectfully submitted, Melissa Morris, LAFCO Commission Clerk